: Heads up display not visible

TexasPhotographer
09-16-08, 11:18 PM
Many of us drive wearing Polarized sunglasses to protect our eyes from glare.

For those of us that have the heads up display the polarizing material in the sun glasses filter out the display from view. Way to go Cadillac.

Cadillac engineers know this as it is stated in our manuals. But, wouldn't it be simple to use a different color filter like magenta (which is the complimentary color to green) as green is the color used by GM for the heads-up display.

I am not an engineer, but I think that using a magenta filter in the heads-up display path to enhance the green light would override the polarizing effect that the sunglasses have on the display.

I am a photographer and think I know something about light. I wrote Cadillac making this suggestion, but Cadillac must have their non-listening ears or non-reading eyes on as they have not even acknowledged my suggestion.

General Motors says they are a different company that is in tune with their customers. Yeah!

c5 rv
09-17-08, 11:24 AM
I had a HUD on my 02 vette. I bought a pair of dark, non-polarizing sunglasses to solve the problem.

That said, I have so many windshield reflections on my Lincoln MKZ with a camel interior that non-polarizing sunglasses are out of the question.

BaTu
09-17-08, 01:52 PM
Magenta numbers "floating around" in front of me?

No thanks, thank you GM ;) green's the right color as far as I'm concerned.... (my sunglasses are OK I guess)

dkozloski
09-17-08, 02:30 PM
Unless the light projected by the HUD is polarized, it doesn't work. Deal with it.

Cajonkev
09-17-08, 03:02 PM
Flipping the polarization 90 degrees would work.

Many glass repair shops will make a pair of non-polarized lenses for you as well for same/near cost as new.

And aviators as well of course as we deal with it all the time...

TexasPhotographer
09-17-08, 08:13 PM
Flipping the polarization 90 degrees would work.