: Carbeurator Problem?

dirt_cheap_fleetwood
09-10-08, 11:20 PM
Was looking through Craigslist today, for sh*ts and giggles, and came across this. http://chicago.craigslist.org/nwi/cto/828488177.html

For the price, it would make a fantastic winter car for me. I have some experience with carburetors, but not too much (mostly small engines). Is it possible that the carb is simply tuned wrong or is there something else that could be the cause of the problem? Why would it have an O2 sensor if it is carbureted? This is the 5.0 Chevy engine right?

Thanks,
DCF

My_favorite_Brougham
09-11-08, 02:12 AM
I don't know what the problem is, but I think that those Quadrajet carbs were basically a concoction engineered by folks who didn't really wanna give over to the whole fuel-injection thing.

And that car has the Olds 5.0L 307cui.
My 1983 Olds Delta 88 has the 307, and yes it does have function for an 02 sensor. I know because mine was causing a rich mixture and burnt up the cat.

Best,
Greg

dirt_cheap_fleetwood
09-11-08, 11:37 AM
Can the Quadrajets be adjusted for fuel air mixture? To me it sounds as though when the choke is on it runs fine but the normal running mixture is wrong.

jayoldschool
09-11-08, 12:52 PM
The Quadrajet is an excellent carb. It was first designed and used in the late 1960s, and has been built in many varieties (electronic, larger CFM, etc). It has small primaries for good mileage, and big secondaries for great full throttle power on acceleration and passing. Lots of older guys just say "put a Holley on it", but a well-tuned Quad will perform as well while delivering better mileage.

The mix screws on an 80s quad are set from the factory, and it shouldn't be necessary to adjust them if everything else is playing nice.