: ht 4100 rwd (1985 fleetwood brougham)

tonloc
09-04-08, 09:06 PM
I Have a 1985 fleetwood brougham that has an HT4100
it went throug the gasket ordeal and to make a long story short
I want to either replace it with a better motor or just order a remanufactured
engine of the same that is currently in the car (ht4100).
I don't want to get rid of my car because its practicly new otherwise.
I'm looking for some enlightment to help me decide what to do.
I will be doing this project my self and I'm not very experienced mechanic
and am not too familiar with the mechanic lingo. I have one other project
under my belt.how ever it was alot easier than this one.
so this is actualy my second project as you can see I'm a novice but I
have alot of common sence .
my question is as follows: which is my best recomended course of action?
should i keep the same type of motor or is there some other options
that would not be so problematic for a brand nubian like myself.
any input is greatly apreciated
Thanks again !
:halo::halo:

jayoldschool
09-04-08, 09:53 PM
Can you describe exactly what is wrong with your engine? We can probably help you through it.

A reman 4100 is $3057 from Jasper.

dirt_cheap_fleetwood
09-05-08, 11:36 AM

That or just drop a 305 in there. Personally I would stick with the 4100 because I would rather have it stock and with any other engine your Fuel Data Center will no longer be accurate or may not work at all.

tonloc
09-05-08, 01:53 PM
Can you describe exactly what is wrong with your engine? We can probably help you through it.

when the whole problem first ocured my car overheated . so I pulled over,
looked under the hood thinking a hose busted ,however I colund't find the source of the steam . I then removed the aircleaner cover from the housing
and noticed that there was antifreeze inside the housing along with my air filter. I let the car cool off for a few minutes then proceeded to drive the rest