: Is there a way to "hack" the radio?

Doctornick
08-06-08, 12:32 PM
The reason I ask is because I see so much potential in the setup and it seems the GM engineers kind of half assed its completion. Would there be a way to put another control unit in there to customize some of the settings on the headunit?

I would like to add things like a backup camera, Sirius headers instead of XM headers, maybe have the head unit control my electric cutouts when I go into competition mode, better dvd controls etc etc

It seems like there should be someway to modify the inputs on the headunit.

Are you all following me? Am I living a pipe dream?

odla
08-06-08, 12:52 PM
i think your smoking but i like the dream

Kmajecki
08-06-08, 12:54 PM
Yea the cutout thing would be sweet! also I've always desired having a custom startup screen. Let me know when you figure it out!! haha

MauiV
08-06-08, 12:56 PM
Anything is possible with enough money.

Doctornick
08-06-08, 01:22 PM
I'm no electrical engineer but I play one on tv. Thats why I was interested to see if anyone else has approached this. It might be as simple as a new ECM piggybacked before the ECM that controls the headunit. So the inputs are going to the new ecm and deciding to let the old ECM do its stuff or show a new input. I don't know, the stuff I am smokeing is pretty nice..ha! I'm gonna start talking to some EEs and see if they have any ideas. Sure with enough money you can do anything, but I would like to know if its anywhere close to possible with something as simple as a piggyback into the harness.

JD03Cobra
08-06-08, 01:26 PM
Great suggestions but at this point i'm more interested in improving the stock sound. It's below average at best...my wife's tauras X stock radio sounds like $20,000 sound system compared to the V.

heavymetals
08-06-08, 02:03 PM
Search is your friend.

The "best scenario" I could come up with is to share the screen with a computer and touch screen overlay (Reed's idea).