: Aftermarket MAFs

lollygagger8
07-23-08, 01:15 PM
Do aftermarket Mass Airflow Sensors do anything for you? I don't see how they could add any HP. For example, Granatelli makes one.

peter simov
07-23-08, 01:35 PM
Lingenfelter has one also

jerrad
07-23-08, 01:44 PM
From the articles I've read they are not needed. There are 600+ cars on the stock MAF. They might add a couple but the HP per dollar is way off in my book.

stuckey
07-23-08, 01:45 PM
I've heard bad things about the Granatelli for the V's. I've heard that they aren't calibrated quite ride and can cause some issues and maybe even pop a code. This is just hear say for me on this particular car. I had a 2000 Z-71 that I added one to and it did fine. Lastly, on both my Trans AM and V I have punched the screen out to give better air flow. This seems to be what alot of people are doing. Just be extra careful not to damage the diodes or whatever. I'm not an expert but that's what I would suggest until you can find out for sure that its a big help with no troubles. I have no experience with the Lingenfelter.

lollygagger8
07-23-08, 01:59 PM
All I've heard about descreening is BAD. I just wonder if aftermarket maf's are like throttle body spacers...meaning useless. (?)

I remember back in the day I bought one of those stupid little things (resistor: clips into the sensor bracket) from SLP that "tricks" the car into thinking the air temp is "cooler". Well, that p.o.s. made the car hit the rev limiter before it shifted (automatic GTP)

heavymetals
07-23-08, 02:36 PM
Replacing the MAF in search of more HP is not the way to go, however, if you want, I have one for sale cheap ($40 and it's yours).

Cost me about $200.00 and it came off the day Stealth told me to put my old one back on.:banghead:

Granatelli like.

What they do is adjust the MAF to run a leaner mix from what I was told.

By By C Ya
07-23-08, 02:49 PM
If it were me, I'd spend the money elsewhere. IMHO

thebigjimsho
07-23-08, 02:52 PM
Granatelli FTMFL!