: another n* head gasket question

neverstuck
07-07-08, 01:48 PM
well the 96 eldo has started to use some AF and is getting a slight burble in the idle ...Im guessing that its gonna be time soon for the head gaskets to get done ...being I dont have the time nor facilities to do this job at home I have to farm it out..I really just would like to ask a few small questions that I couldnt find answers to .

question 1....relative cost of this job ?Im thinking like 3 grand
question 2....Would it be a better Idea to have the dealer do it or a local shop?
question 3....will the dealer have a warranty on the job other than like 90 days?

Im not a fan of dealerships . But Im new to my area and dont know any mechanics here that I trust .

I really thank everyone on this sight for all the help Ive gotten in the past ..

big craig

ryannel2003
07-07-08, 02:09 PM
Before I bought my Seville, the headgaskets were done at my dealership. The cost (along with water pump, new motor mount, belts, etc.) was around $3000. However, that was what it cost the dealership. It would have probably cost me around $3000-$4000. Make sure your quote includes timeserting; it is a wise thing to do; its been shown cars w/o timeserts will usually fail again. As for dealer vs shop, my dealer gave me a 12mo/12k mile warranty on the headgaskets; thats the norm from what I've read. Personally, I'd have it done at a Cadillac dealership. While it's usually cheaper to get an independent shop to do it, there is more of a possibility of something else screwing up.

neverstuck
07-07-08, 02:35 PM
thats been my thinking from the beginning..normally id do this myself but Im done with working on my own cars these days ...timeserts are a definite need ,I wouldnt do it any other way ..thanx for yer input.

Ranger
07-07-08, 04:48 PM