: I'm a newbie and just wanted to introduce myself

Eddiealready
05-27-08, 07:26 PM
I just joined a few moments ago and wanted to say hello. My uncle recently passed away and was kind enough to leave me his 1978 Eldorado. I remember when he bought it new and he kept it as a collector item and it hasn't been driven in about 15 years or so. I was always a car nut growing up and my uncle was one as well and that's why he left the Caddy to me. I have been looking for information for it and came across this forum, so I decided to join.

The car is a 1978 Cadillac Eldorado that is a dark green with padded white vinyl roof. I assume it's vinyl, but you experts would know better than me. Everything was factory on the car and he left it stock. The interior is a leather with cloth weave fabric inserts. The interior is green as well, but the cloth fabric has a green and white pattern to it, if that makes any sense. I'll be taking pictures of it soon and will post them if anyone is interested. It needs some work and hasn't run in years, but has never seen snow or rain from what I understand.

My uncle kind of gave up on life in the past few years before he died and just let it sit in the garage with no car cover and surround it with junk on either side. It needs 4 tires, a battery, and a good cleaning for starters, but has no rust from what I can tell. If anyone is familiar with this model and has some good advice to give, I'm all ears. I'll be towing the car up from my uncle's place in Indiana and getting it to my garage in Northern Illinois where I can work on it. I definitely have some work to do, but look forward to getting started.

gary88
05-27-08, 07:31 PM
Welcome to the forum! Sorry to hear about your uncle.

orconn
05-27-08, 07:44 PM