: What other engines fit a 1999 Cadillac sts?

spares-a-hoy
04-28-08, 11:06 AM
Hello, I am new to the Caddy community. My father has a 1999 Cadillac sts that is in fantastic condition, but the n* has a blown hd gasket. After reading many threads it sounds like this is a common problem, and If I try to fix it, it will only happen again. Then what do I have. A high mileage motor with another problem. My question is, what newer year model n* engine will fit this car? I would love a low mileage n* motor, but don't know what to look for. I would appreciate any suggestions or answers from the Caddy community. Thank you.

Submariner409
04-28-08, 11:39 AM
No simple options, as the post-99 engine and drivetrain have some significant mechanical and electronic changes. If you'll take the time to go back through this forum and read the Technical Archive at the top of the page, lower left black bar, you'll see that this subject is well discussed.

Basically, after doing what amounts to a top overhaul and Timesert thread replacement on all the cylinder head bolts you will have addressed the late 90's problem: Weak head bolt retention, causing cylinder head lifting with subsequent exhaust gas in the coolant. The lower end of a Northstar is bulletproof and will last forever. You won't need to go past the chaincase and cylinder heads, but the engine unit really needs to be out of the car due to space and mechanical work constraints.

If you tackle the overhaul, it isn't a piece of cake, by any means, but the posts, pictures, techniques discussed, and workarounds posted in here will keep you straight. You have to be able to lift the car off the engine/transmission unit cradle as it and the hubs/axles all comes out the bottom.

Cost-wise, I'd do the top overhaul rather than chance a junkyard pull, unless I saw the entire car and watched to pull occur. (My 2 cents)

What's a Hoy ?? (I'm retired Navy, obviously ^^ :(chuckle))

zonie77
04-28-08, 12:07 PM