: Another question- DTS to ESV

china99
04-25-08, 09:03 PM
I've been driving a DTS deville for almost 4 years now. I've gotten quite used to it. I know where I can and can't park to get out easily. I've never really paid attention to the back up sensors unless they go off when I know something isn't directly behind me. That usually means there is a person there :yup:

I should be getting my ESV very soon. Will ship out from the dealer next week.
How hard is it going to be adjusting to backing up and parking? I'll be honest and say that it's kind of scaring me a little. I wish I didn't need something this long, but with the amount of kids I have and the amount of groceries I normally carry, the length was necessary. Not to mention I wasn't really comfortable with my kids being so close to the back end of my car. Too many idiots texting while driving.

Am I going to have to park far away from things for a while? Will I look like an idiot and hit a curb or 2? I'm afraid I will end up wanting my husband to drive the ESV and smushing my kids back into the Deville.

DaveH28
04-25-08, 11:18 PM
I went from driving a Tahoe with no back-up sensors into an EXT, which is the same length as your ESV, and yours will have better visibility..

I think you'll get used to it quickly, but I'll tell you those back-up sensors are awesome, and I use mine every day. When I back up out of my driveway there is a large pick up truck across the street and I have to avoid hitting it every day..

I just go slow and rely on the sensors, especially because it is dark out when I leave for work, and trying to see out of my small removable window (which is heavily tinted by the way), with the headlamps and the nav screen reflecting in it -- is tough.. So use your sensors, that's what they are there for... But always check to make sure they turn on as you back up!

If you were getting an 07, you'd have the camera too.. very handy! You can always install an aftermarket one in your ESV if you like..