: 2001 STS rust passenger door

yam700
04-20-08, 01:41 PM
HI, just bought a 2001 STS. On the passenger front door up about 4" from the bottom the paint is raised about an 2" in diameter. It is a bunch of pin sized bumps. The paint is not broken and the rust is from the inside out. I was a GM tech for 17 years and I know that if the paint was chipped that would have been the cause for entry. The paint is fine so this has occurred from the inside. Will GM do anything or should I take it to the dealer were I worked and see if we can possibly do a 50/50 split for the repairs? Any help would greatly be appriciated.

Thanks,
Rob

pompste
04-22-08, 11:10 PM
HI, just bought a 2001 STS. On the passenger front door up about 4" from the bottom the paint is raised about an 2" in diameter. It is a bunch of pin sized bumps. The paint is not broken and the rust is from the inside out. I was a GM tech for 17 years and I know that if the paint was chipped that would have been the cause for entry. The paint is fine so this has occurred from the inside. Will GM do anything or should I take it to the dealer were I worked and see if we can possibly do a 50/50 split for the repairs? Any help would greatly be appriciated.

Thanks,
Rob

It`s certainly worth a try to take your STS to the dealer where you worked and possibly get a 50/50 split.The fact that you worked there might carry some weight.
Whether GM does anything or not depends on how the "rust warranty" is worded.
Good luck to you.

dkozloski
04-23-08, 06:10 PM
It might be the result of a roadside bodyshop repair. You might want to pull the upholstery and look at the inside before you make a fool of yourself.

yam700
04-29-08, 06:45 PM
Thanks for the replies, I want to pull the panel before I take it in anyway. I liked to be well armed with info before attempting anything.

Murphyg
05-02-08, 10:56 PM
Is this on the outside of the door ?