Cadillac Owners Forum banner
5K views 4 replies 5 participants last post by  Parvell Smith 
#1 ·
Hello,
Im a Caddy newb, but have been playing around with SBCs for about 5 years.
I found a 1975 500ci with trans for 300$ Canadian in a local paper. It has 100,000 miles and is running. I am wondering what kind of transmissions you can put behind this engine? Could you put a 400 or 700R4 behind it?

If tranny swaps are a possibility, I would buy this engine, rebuild it and "try" to put it in my 78 Chev half ton. I have no idea if this is even remotely possible, if anyone out there can school me:worship: it would be great.
Thanks for any info,

#3 ·
The swap, from what I'm told, is pretty straight forward......You'll have to buy or make motor mounts (frame mounts), move the tranny mount and have the driveshaft shortened. The TH-400 trans is best behind these motors.......they'll stand up to the torque. If the engine you're speaking of is from a rear drive car and the tranny is the one that came out of the car, it'll be a 400.

The Maximum Torque Specialties web site has some pretty good tech tips. Check it out.

#4 ·
If you want that truck to move out like you never imagined,grab that engine!! The conversion is no big deal,with a welder and some reasonable skills. The brackets MTS sells for the mounts make it fairly easy.When I did my 73 Chevy p/u,I did encounter a firewall clearance problem on the left side because the cylinder banks are offset the opposite way.The Caddy bellhousing will bolt up to anything but a Chevy transmission. The problem with the O/D units is that the converter bolt pattern is too small for the holes in the flexplate.The Caddy will destroy those anyway. I used an adapter plate to keep my Chevy transmission, and it works well. The oil pan needs to be changed also,to a rear sump.It sounds like a lot, but you will freak when you see what that engine will do. Plus you will have something not everybody has,which is kinda cool too.

#5 ·