: Finally - Proper iPod integration!

LLT
04-12-08, 03:04 AM
I've spent well over $1,500 in iPod kits over the last couple of years (I know, crazy.) Neucleus, Scosche, Peripheral, Coastal and the aforementioned knockoffs. All of them had their issues and none worked flawlessly (Coastal's junk was the worst of the bunch) but I finally picked up the Peripheral PXAMG (http://www.peripheralelectronics.com/products.aspx?ProductID=276) and installed it. I've been using it for about 3 months now and have yet to have a single issue. It seems to work flawlessly, everytime, under all conditions. It remembers my position (of all three iPods), always displays the right data, sounds crystal clear, very responsive, doesn't have the list limitations the others have, allows proper use of the up/down buttons on the steering wheel, etc. What a huge improvement over their previous unit (slow, buggy, incompatible with the iPhone/touch.) Perfect!

The downside is, it requires pulling the head unit and connecting directly to the harness (vs. the XM tuner) -- but it's a small price to pay.

I've always complained about the awful iPod integration options available. I felt it only fair to share my positive experience. I'm not sure if GM Geek is still around and is able to get these units, but he was always very helpful to me in the past. It would be great if he could help you guys out.

Good luck. :)

hcvone
04-12-08, 07:46 AM
Thanks for the info

marcev
04-12-08, 10:33 AM
good stuff. do you lose xm by connecting this? also where did you purchase. i was looking at the scosche but if this is better(price wise also) i would like to get this.

larry_chip
04-12-08, 10:35 PM
i want a ipod hook up for my truck, but have been confused on which one to get? i really want the bluetooth tho? how hard was the install?

DaveH28
04-12-08, 11:00 PM
I also have a good ipod integration product to share.. it is made by a company called smartpark i believe..