: 97 ETC overheating questions

bobvondutch
05-20-04, 07:21 PM
OK, first I want to thank everyone for the tips:) , although I hate to think about the cost:crying2: of the repair, but I just love this car:bouncy: . Anyhow, I have reserved myself to the fact that the head gaskets need replaced. I have to get the manuals (any good sources), and a timesert kit (anyone selling?), and probably some odds & ends tools, and have a 10-day shutdown at July 4th to do it in. HOWEVER, I do have some more questions.
1) Other than replacing the head gaskets, doing the timesert thing, and a new water pump, based on anyone else's experience, what else?? Lower gaskets (and I do have a small leak somewhere), main bearings, rod bearings, ?:bonkers:
2) For those who have done this repair: how have you driven your car since, and have you had any additional problems? Do you baby it, or use all 300 horses to play with? :confused:
3) Being an engineer and machinist, I believe the head gaskets fail because of the heat cycling of the dissimilar materials: aluminum block/steel head bolts eventually causes some threads to give way, causing the gaskets to give. Anyhow, does anyone feel that the timeserts will eliminate this problem for good: does the use of timeserts make it darn near impossible for the head bolts to pull again??:hmm:
Finally, it seems Bbob is a plethora of information, especially from reading other threads, and I humbly thank him for his help.:worship:

eldorado1
05-20-04, 08:14 PM
1) Other than replacing the head gaskets, doing the timesert thing, and a new water pump, based on anyone else's experience, what else?? Lower gaskets (and I do have a small leak somewhere), main bearings, rod bearings, ?:bonkers: