: 2002 DTS trouble

dqao
03-01-08, 08:59 AM
Hey Guys .Im new to this site and i would really like some help before returning to dealer. I have a 2002 Deville DTS and when it is real cold out i have trouble starting it . I crank it and it shut off like it is not getting gas and sometimes it will crank but it idle real low then shut off. I have to press the gas to get it going for about 45 seconds. I have no problem with it once it warms up or if is is warm outside. Does anyone know what this problem could be.

Ranger
03-01-08, 10:42 AM
Start by pulling the DTC's, then clean the TB.

dqao
03-01-08, 03:38 PM
Im new to this so what are DTC's and i take it that TB is the throttle body

JimD
03-01-08, 04:21 PM
DTCs are Diagnostic Trouble Codes and here is how to display them on your car -
http://www.cadillacforums.com/forums/cadillac-tech-tips/55172-how-pull-codes-got-codes-warning.html

For engine problems, pay attention to "P" codes.

Ranger
03-01-08, 05:21 PM
i take it that TB is the throttle body
Correct.

dqao
03-01-08, 05:50 PM
I checked the codes and there are not any "P" codes.The only codes are IMP B4029 current, MSM B1845 history, MSM B1875 history, TTM B2858 history and these codes dont have any revelance to the engine performance. So do you think cleaning the throttle body will help. I would like to have an idea of the problem before i take it to the dealer.

Ranger
03-01-08, 06:03 PM
A dirty TB will not set a DTC, but if it is carboned real bad the IAC (Idle Air Control) circuit can get plugged and cause idle problems. Clean it before you go to the dealer. They will charge you $100 - $150 for "TB service".

dqao
03-01-08, 07:03 PM
Is there a thread that will tell me how to clean the TB.I can turn a wrench.

Ranger
03-01-08, 07:24 PM