: Changing Coolant and the Right Number of Tablets

wilsonmi
05-17-04, 10:39 PM
OK - Im new to Cadillacs and new to the Forum. I did the searches on coolant changes and read as many as I could until my eyes got blurred.

I've got a 99 STS with 68K on it. The water pump is starting to seep which I've heard is fairly common. So I'm going to replace it in the next couple of weeks. While I'm at it, I'll replace the coolant. In several of the threads I've read, I saw people talk about using powder and some say tablets instead. Some of the threads say 6 tablets - the sticker under my hood says 3. What's the right number?

By the way, before anyone asks I'm going to use a new pump - not rebuilt. My brother got what I thought was a good price - $75.00 for the pump and the special socket. The dealer wanted $570.00 to replace it.

P.S. I bought it used with 64K on it and I love the car.

Thanks for any advice
Mike

growe3
05-17-04, 10:54 PM
Put in two tubes of Bars Leak Golden Seal (.75 oz each) or the equivalent in the tablet form. If using the tablets, crumble a bit to help it break down. They are the same ingredient, ginger root.

Be sure to only place it in one of the radiator hoses. Usually pull the lower hose loose from the water pump and add at that point.

DO NOT PUT IN THE SURGE TANK, it will not circulate properly.

-George

wilsonmi
05-20-04, 10:56 PM
Thanks for the advice. I appreciate it.

Mike

JimD
05-20-04, 11:22 PM
And be sure to replace any lost coolant with a 50/50 pre-mix of distilled water/Dex-Cool.

Anthony Cipriano
05-20-04, 11:54 PM
The manual will say 3 of the GM coolant supplement pellets for the Northstar. The 4.x engines were recommended for 6 of them due to the greater chance of an internal leak of coolant directly into the oil. I always recommend 6 of the GM coolant supplement pellets/2 tubes of the BarsLeaks golden seal powder for either engine. It just provides extra protection against leakage and wont hurt a thing.