: Questions about low-mile oft-stored '02 Eldorado

intragration
02-18-08, 01:31 AM
I'm new to the Cadillac Northstar and have a few questions, I will continue mining through the forums, but I was wondering if anyone might have some quick answers. For background, I'm a car nut, and most of my recent experience is with the LS1. I recently inherited an '02 Eldorado which I'll be keeping. The car has 15,000 miles and hasn't had more than 2,000 miles in the last 3 years.

First, I've noticed that the car is a little hard to start. I think the tank was last filled about 3 years ago, and I put some stabil in it a little while ago, but it's old gas. I've been keeping it in storage mode recently, and I'm not able to drive it on the street yet. Any thoughts on the hard start? When I say hard start, it doesn't start on the first try, but usually on the second. Not a huge deal, but my last somewhat-recent Cadillac was a '90 DeVille 4.9 with 150K, and that started on the first try every time. I'm guessing it's probably the gas, but I wanted to get your take.

Next, I was just wondering what you might recommend for maintenance. I'm planning to change the oil first chance I get, but what else? Coolant probably, I know this is Dexcool and I'll never make THAT mistake again, but what about transmission? Is there a separate differential? (I think there is on my '76, but not sure on the '02)

Any other thoughts would be appreciated. Like I said, I will keep looking on my own, but I thought I'd solicit recommendations in light of the experience available here. Here are a few pics of the car. Thanks in advance for your help.

Submariner409
02-18-08, 01:39 PM
If the car is DEXCOOL, leave it DEXCOOL. Do the FSM recommended coolant change with tablets, 50/50 coolant/water mix. As long as you have forever to do the coolant change, use distilled or deionized water (grocery store, .69/gal.).