: Check Gas Cap Message.

thewireman*
02-04-08, 11:21 PM
Hello guys! :) Newbie here, I couldn't find the search box and could've looked for it if the answer is already there! Sorry if it has been answered.

I have a 1999 Deville and got this message on my dash saying, "Check Gas Cap" well, I sure "checked" it and dont know what the hell I'm checking. I tried to buy a new Gas Cap, and still the same message. I ran the codes, -P0440 Evaporative Emission System...My shop looked for the leaks and said it was fine, said could be the switch on my gas tank? or something like that. Is there anyway I could get rid of the message? Does it affect anything? Thank you guys.

codewize
02-05-08, 12:48 AM
You'll fail emissions if you're state requires it. Clear the codes and see if it comes back. Some codes get set and stay active for a while or until cleared.

Submariner409
02-05-08, 11:02 AM
The late 90's-03 Seville/Deville series has a recall for fuel tank pressure sensor replacement. That sensor will trigger the code/DIC warning.

Take your VIN to your Cadillac dealer and have them pull the GM history on the car. If the recall was accomplished, it will be in there.

The tank pressure sensor is part of the pump module mounted in the top of the fuel tank. No fun to replace. Expensive.

krimson_cardnal
02-05-08, 12:24 PM
I've noted that when my 96DeVille is at idle and I remove the gas cap I do not get any message at all. No check engine light, no codes?? Any ideas? K_C

Submariner409
02-05-08, 04:31 PM
Fuel tank pressure and vacuum are controlled by the evaporative and canister purge cycles, so the pressure malfunction probably sets during some warmup cycle changeover. There must be some range of pressure/vacuum for the sensor to monitor, and if the values go outside those settings the sensor trips a leaky gas cap fault. There have been a couple of posts lately concerning rusted out filler pipes. That should set a similar code.