: Member intro

Jay313
01-31-08, 06:12 PM
Hey folks, just became a member today, though I have been lurking through the threads for the last few month. Figured I'd start here, give you all a little history, tell you a bit about myself, and show you some of my past work.

As my user name suggest, my name is Jay. Currently, I live in a historic district in downtown Phoenix, and spend most of my off time doing resto work on the home. I work for a financial company on a institutional trade platform (NSCC). I have an MBA, a few FIRNA (NASD) licenses, and am working on a CFP right now. I'm also expecting my first child in a couple of months.

I grew up in the Detroit area, and have always owned American cars. My parents had a 97 STS, a 98 ETC and a 2000 Catera, all of which I drove when I was in my earlier 20's. My family has always had a connection with Cadillac, considering my family history. My Great-Grandfather worked on the Fisher-Body line back in the teens through fourties. My Grandfather worked over 30 years at Cadillac as a linesman on the main assembly line. I have all sorts of cool collectibles from him... UAW pins, his 20th, 25th and 30th anniversary pins, as well as his old work badge.
http://i108.photobucket.com/albums/n4/Darcsun/IMG_1603.jpg

That's him. Those old Cadillac badges are nothing like the cheap ones we all get nowadays. Anyways, my first ride is a 2007 Cadillac CTS. I picked it up with the 0% financing and the family discount. It's only a 2.8l, but it was the only 6 speed in the local area. Since we don't drive automatics in my family, the wife and I jumped on it. We put the rims on the first week, and a spoiler arrived this week. I'll be adding tha iPod adaptor and hardwiring a radar detector in the coming weeks.

http://i108.photobucket.com/albums/n4/Darcsun/2007%20Cadillac%20CTS/IMG_1508.jpg