: 425 knocking noise

ramon
05-13-04, 08:24 PM
i just bought a 78 caddy deville with a 425 and the old man i bought it from told me about the knocking noise he said was caused by his wife getting the oil changed at a fast lube place and not priming something, he told me he thinks the oil pan needs to be replaced. i am new to the world of caddy big blocks and would really like some advice. also, does anyone out therte know where ican get a rebuild/overhaul kit for under what autozone priced theres at, in other words under $600. just someone please let me know how to get this big beast up and running.

bryan1970
05-14-04, 01:41 PM
i'm also new to the cadillac scene and have a deville with a 425. and guess what mine makes noise too. but mine is more of a ticking noise. but any way. i know that there is nothing to prime on the 425. What viscosity oil is in the engine when it is making noise? Because i bought my deville off a guy that had the oil changed at a quick lube place and they put 10W40 in it and that is too thick of oil. I changed mine to 10W30 and it got a little quieter. How many mile are on yours mine has 127K. I have narrowed my noise down to the front lifters. and it is sometimes loud enough to sound like a knock but it is just the collapsed lifters. i have also noticed that it gets alot more quiet as the engine warms up. If it is lifters making noise try draining the oil and running the engine with ATF in it for a while. also be sure to change oil filters before and after you do that.

ramon
05-14-04, 03:50 PM