: O2 Sensor Questions

aamusls06
01-07-08, 02:00 AM
The Caddy is running a little rich. I'm smelling gas fumes through the exhaust. I've cleaned the EGR. It seems to have a misfire in it also. I'm not getting any codes back either. My guess in this situation is O2 sensors. The best way I've seen to get to them is put it on a lift which will not be a problem being that I have access to one.

These are my questions. How many O2 sensors do I have besides the two in the exhaust manifolds, and what are the proper names for those? So, many people are telling me different things, but from my understanding OBD-I only the two in the exhaust manifold.

I have a 94 Cadillac SLS. Will post pics of me installing once I get the info I need. :bouncy::bouncy: Also, will use nothing but AC-Delco, because I've had some bad experiences with Bosch.

dkozloski
01-07-08, 02:56 AM
Pull the trouble codes and tell us what you find.

aamusls06
01-07-08, 03:08 AM
Pull the trouble codes and tell us what you find.

Funny thing is...there's no trouble codes except my usual suspension codes.

AJxtcman
01-07-08, 07:55 AM
It would be very hard for an O2 sensor to cause a fuel smell.

#1 if the PCM detects a problem with the O2 sensor it will stay in Open Loop. In open loop the car is running with out the use of the O2 Sensor. It is on a preset program.

#2 If a car is rich you would have LESS unburned gas out the tail pipe than if it was lean. Yes if the car is running lean you get more unburned fuel out the tail pipe.

#3 You have you car listed as a 94. The injectors, fuel lines, and the FPR are inside the intake. If you have a fuel leak inside the intake manifold and a Misfire you will get raw fuel out the tail pipe. This leak would include a stuck open Fuel injector. These will equal a WHITE FOG out the tail pipes