: Need help removing 99 STS northstar motor

ktan
12-19-07, 12:34 PM
Hoping I could get some help from many of you that have pulled the northstar motor or done the Head Gasket job. (done search but it doesnít answer some of my questions below) I am new to working on the Cadillacs (Ö I said I would help a friend timesert and replace his head gaskets) but not new to mechanical work. I typically work on Audis and Acura NSXs.

The car is a 1999, 99 Seville STS

I am at the point of unbolting the 6 bolts that hold the frame to the body but I already forsee some problems as Iím not sure on the questions below Ö

1. Remove the brake pressure switch and bracket.
What is this and where is it located??

2. Disconnect the electrical harness from the underhood relay center.
Iím a little lost on this one, are these the 3 block harnesses under the relay box held in by a 7mm screw? If so how do you get them out after you loosen the 7mm screws? I even tried pulling all the fuses and relays in case they were holding them in. Am I undoing the wrong harness?

3. Disconnect the right and left road sensing suspension electrical connectors.
are these the servo type boxes with a little servo link attaching to lower control arms on either side?

4. ABS Brake unit
finally I have a question in regards to the ABS unit behind the radiator on the drivers side. Is this suppose to be removed from the frame before I drop the motor? I have already disconnected the lines at the proportioning valves, but noticed the lines to the front brake calipers is still bolted to the frame, do I unbolt the line from the frame or do I unhook the ABS unit completely? (may be related to question #1)

thanks
Kevin

zonie77
12-19-07, 01:33 PM
I've done a 97 (my brother's) but it should be very similar.

We did not disco any brake lines. We hung the calipers from the inner fenders and the ABS unit stayed with the body. We did have to disconnect the AC lines near the radiator.