: Rear Diff Fluid

05cts-v
11-08-07, 12:13 AM
My last rear diff was put in about a 1,000 miles ago and it is starting to whine again and this time its louder. I am going to have the fluid changed and was wandering if there is anything that is recommended other than the GM products.

RobWilson
11-08-07, 06:00 AM
Dyno-Tech Engineering, the people who built the differential for my C5, are big proponents of Redline diff fluid. They even have a Limited Slip additive. I have been using the Redline diff fluid since 2003 in my C5. When it is time to service the diff in my V, I will use Redline in it, also.

ewill3rd
11-08-07, 07:29 AM
I haven't used much other than what we have in the shop which is the GM stuff.
I know GM is coming out with a new fluid sometime this month to deal with the clutch chatter on turns for the CTS and XLR with G80.
I have no idea who they are getting it from or what is in it.
The guy I have been talking to about it said it already has the friction modifier "built in" but as I mentioned it isn't out yet.

The only other thing I do know is that a different guy at TAC suggested I use a Mobil branded lube and adding the friction modifier for an issue with the XLR.
I am sure other guys have tried different things with degrees of success, hopefully they will chime in.

darkman
11-08-07, 08:39 AM
There are a number of earlier threads on this subject.

I use the GM fluid (and its companion additive) because it is the only fluid I have found that meets, or even claims to meet, the GM Specification 9986115 required by the warranty. The GM 9986115 Specification requires the fluid to survive additional high temperature tests not included in the otherwise applicable API GL-5 standard.

CTSV_Rob
11-08-07, 01:37 PM
I am not tracking the car and by no means am I an expert.

With that out of the way, I am using the AmsOil Fluid that they recommend and the diff is quiet as a church mouse at 10K.