: Cimarron not looking too bad...

theniceguy_26251
10-22-07, 03:45 PM
I own an 88 Cimarron, and a 96 DeVille. The DeVille has had two new water pumps, two Batteries, a starter (ouch) currently needs new uber-shocks (2000$) and the windshields cracked. I also have codes for some O2 sensors I haven't replaced yet. I've just now finished replacing the fuel pump on the Cimarron. Oh, yeah I've replaced a battery on it since I've owned it. Now I'm looking at these threads, 30+ pages of ISSUES with Cateras, and I'm starting to think, maybe a simpler car wouldn't be such a bad idea (something more appealing than a Cimarron LOL). Thoughts?

heavycat
10-24-07, 06:56 PM
If your looking for a vehicle that won't ever give you a migraine, the catera is probably not the car for you. I would say that the majority of the Catera owners on this forum have a love hate relationship with there cats, I know i do. In hindsight, I probably cant afford to own a catera myself, im a fulltime student so i dont have cash to throw away. But I dont think i could ever sell it, pretty much as soon as you buy a catera you've passed the point of no return. I guess theres really nothing like owning an Opel-llac. Keep the Cat Alive!!

elvin315
10-25-07, 12:13 AM
The 30+ pages should have scared you away. If they didn't maybe you're our kind of guy. I bought my 2001 Catera Sport before finding this site. If I had I wouldn't have bought it, though if I hadn't bought it I would have missed out on a great sport sedan. A budget BMW. No Cadillac before the Catera ever handled like this. No floating battleship feel to this car. The ride is closer to Corvette than Cadillac. I absolutely love this car.