: What gives the Northstar its "whirring" sound at idle?

iroc86
10-21-07, 03:07 PM
At idle, the Northstar engine does not sound like any other car I know. Most vehicles are very "mechanical" while standing near the engine compartment, but the Northstar has more of a purring/whirring noise (plus the clicking fuel injectors).

I've been around many Northstar-powered Cadillacs and they've always made that trademark noise. Being a mechanical engineer, I'm curious which engine component is responsible for the sound. It seems to come from the area around the valve covers, but usually the valvetrain makes a distinct noise different than what I'm hearing. Any ideas?

JimD
10-21-07, 03:24 PM
I've convinced myself it is the timing chains you can hear at idle. Blended in with the fuel injector solenoids.

med
10-21-07, 03:29 PM
I've been told it's the alternator. I believe it, although sometimes when I'm delusional I like to think it's one of those superchargers GM forgot to remove after testing!:cookoo:

Submariner409
10-21-07, 03:57 PM
3 timing chains, lots of gear teeth, and 32 cam followers......and an alternator in the front of the engine.

AJxtcman
10-21-07, 04:11 PM
I've been told it's the alternator. I believe it, although sometimes when I'm delusional I like to think it's one of those superchargers GM forgot to remove after testing!:cookoo: If you are around sometime I should take a listen to it. I Can turn off the Alternator and see if it stops. A alternator should only make that noise for a short time.

At idle, the Northstar engine does not sound like any other car I know. Most vehicles are very "mechanical" while standing near the engine compartment, but the Northstar has more of a purring/whirring noise (plus the clicking fuel injectors).