: Considering an '07 And looking for advice

Northern SRX
10-20-07, 09:39 AM
Vehicle no. 1 is an '04 V8 SRX, lease due to end in a year - looking at another SRX to replace it at that time. I am new to Cadillac and have been impressed for the past 3 years (not so much on reliability but on all the other intrinsic characteristics).

Am also due to replace vehicle no. 2 and am considering either an '07 STS or an '08 CTS. I'm looking for a sedan that will be primarily for the 30 km commute to work (1/2 rural, 1/2 city). Comfort, performance, and safety will trump issues like rear leg room, trunk size, etc. (we'll have the SRX for that). We live in Ontario but not in the snow belt but put winter tires even on our AWD SRX. I used to drive a RWD '92 Mazda 929 with winter tires and it was fine (and that was without all-speed traction control or Stabilitrak!) so the STS or CTS wouldn't need to be AWD.

I absolutely love the looks of the new CTS but suspect it will need the first year to lick niggling quality issues and, besides, the initial price probably will be a little sticky.

Which is what's having me really consider a CPO '07 STS with low kms on it (I've seen several with well under 20k kms for mid $30s for RWD V6 and just under $40k for RWD V8 or AWD V6). To me, any of them sound like a deal.

So, any advice as to: (1) RWD snow driving; (2) V6 vs. V8 powertrain; (3) problem areas I should look for when shopping a CPO '07.

Much obliged!

Caroutisine
10-20-07, 11:29 PM
I would get the CTS in AWD considering that you already have a SRX.

loman
10-21-07, 12:11 PM
I was in the same situation. I was all set to get a 2008 cts ,