: Newbie here

armchair
10-15-07, 08:00 PM
Hi, just joined the forum. I am pretty certain I am going to buy an 04-05 CTS-V. I am hard on the look out for a low mileage example but have a couple of questions. I have driven two of them-one was an 05 with 13,000 miles on it and I was very impressed. I also drove an 05 with 22,000 miles on it and it had some interesting differential noise, pulled to the right, the shifter was terrible, etc-I am pretty certain this one was just beaten upon, drag raced at every light, etc. However, in all honesty, my last American vehicle was a 2000 Chevy Express that I purchased new for my work (own a small plumbing service co.), and by 90,000 miles it was done. In comparison, my current work van-a Dodge Sprinter, made in Germany, feels tight as a drum with 70K on it. I have a fear of buying American, although I do realize that strides have been made to improve upon the laughable quality of the past. And one of the things I do like about the V is that it is American-it does not have image of an Audi or BMW (a plus IMO), it sounds like a hot rod, and I was surprised at how fun it was to drive.

But is this thing going to fall apart as my Chevy did-with squeaks and rattles and broken door handles and blower motors that fail and electrical issues, and on and on? I know about the diff problem, but I am talking about the general vehical? I am not going to be driving this every day-laugh at me, but I am keeping my current daily driver-a real Volkswagen Beetle (the air cooled, rear engine one)-which is still in very good condition and bullet proof reliable for the 117,000 miles I have owned it. But the V will get used, I just want to know if it's built fairly well. Thanks in advance!

rand49er
10-15-07, 08:08 PM
... I just want to know if it's built fairly well. ...Umm-m ... have you come here for an unbiased opinion? My theory is that all manufacturers have their turkeys, Germans, Japs, Swedes, and Koreans, too.