: Custom subwoofer installs on the rear decklid? (not freeair)

DarkMatter
10-09-07, 03:14 PM
I have been surfing around on the forums for pics of a rear decklid non-freeair install. 0% return. :annoyed:

Anyone have pics they can post? I have been installing for 10 years now and was thinking about taking 3 months to design/fab/install a nice fiberglass enclosure. Figured it would be a good idea for a few reasons -

1st -Previous experience has yeilded that my driving style requires that a sub box needs to be anchored down by at least 3 1/4 lag bolts or 10-15 screws. (snapped a 4 point screwdown, then a 1 1/4 lag bolt sheared through the hole I made in the car's sheetmetal. Led to a few funny-as-hell dents in the rear panel of the car. Looked like the top of Bart Simpson's head was mashed against the insde of the car. Thank god it was a honda.... ) So - I am not interested in bolting something down/taking up a bunch of trunk realestate or dealing with the ramifications of a rolling box on such a beautiful car.

2nd -Freeair subs are great for 80-120Hz or so because of the speed and lack of major driver displacement/compression of air needed to produce a clean signal. Getting lower frequencies requires the cone of the subwoofer move much slower and travels furthur. Freeair subs are stiffer at the end of thier throw in either linear direction because they are designed to *try* to not bottom out on the back of the magnet. Because of this, freeair is the worse sub design to produce low, reliably clean signals. You really need a sealed box, or an engineered sealed. (bandpass boxes are for 18 years old s with 1000 wheedwhaker exhuast rice-rockets with no vision of audio quality.)
Seeing as how audio is actuall produced in most songs from 32hz - 10khz, I wouldn't see the point of replacing a crappy factory sub with a less-crappy but not crap-less replacement.

Lastly - I HATE BOSE. No offense to those who like it - its just not my cup O' tea. :D