: 1979 deville 425

bryan1970
04-14-04, 11:03 PM
i just bought my fisrt cadillac it is a 1979 coupe deville w/a 425. it has a ticking noise from what sounds like the front lifters for the front two cylinders. I have little to no experince with cadillacs specificly and was wondering if there is anything that might be a common problem with these engines. I think it is maybe clogged push rods or collapsed lifters or i was thinking that it also could be the oil pump not creating enough flow to feed the front lifters. Of course that is assuming that the pump is in the back like on small&big block chevys. Again i have very little experience with these cars. any help would be greatly appreciated. thanks in advance.

tripleyellow78cad
04-16-04, 09:36 PM
i just bought my fisrt cadillac it is a 1979 coupe deville w/a 425. it has a ticking noise from what sounds like the front lifters for the front two cylinders. I have little to no experince with cadillacs specificly and was wondering if there is anything that might be a common problem with these engines. I think it is maybe clogged push rods or collapsed lifters or i was thinking that it also could be the oil pump not creating enough flow to feed the front lifters. Of course that is assuming that the pump is in the back like on small&big block chevys. Again i have very little experience with these cars. any help would be greatly appreciated. thanks in advance.
hey bryan!
your oil pump is on the outside of the engine where the oil filter is located,
that means you can change the oil pump very easely with out removing the oil pan:woohoo:
and i have had the same type of lifter problem in my 78 deville
but only on start up or when its very cold out, also i read my service manual
and the oil pressure is only 10 psi at idel on 425 V-8's :wtf:
and only 30 psi max:wtf:
what made my 425's lifters make noise was the quick lube place puting
strait 40w oil plus an stp oil additive insted of just plain simple 10w30:fan: