: Fender Tag or what car do I have?

CoupedeVille'73
07-25-07, 06:52 AM
hi,
as I'm new to the theme, I'd like to know where I can find the tag with the complete manufacturing informations of my '73 Coupe deVille. I've got the VIN (off course) but there must be more info somewhere (colour code, interior code etc.).
I remember that some other brands(:eek:) do have a tag under the trunk lid, but this one hasn't.
Would appreciate your answers.

Greetings from Germany where you can tell it's summer, because the rain gets warmer right now :bigroll:

Mud
07-25-07, 08:44 AM
By fender tag do you mean the cowl tag on the firewall? It has all the trim/color codes on it.

CoupedeVille'73
07-25-07, 09:00 AM
By fender tag do you mean the cowl tag on the firewall? It has all the trim/color codes on it.Yes, thank you. I don't know the name of the tag exactly, but what I mean is the little piece of matal, which contains all the informations of the car. It must be mounted somewhere on the body and is supposed to be made of metal, even if some other brands (:eek:) use stickers, for instance under the trunk hood.

jayoldschool
07-25-07, 10:18 AM
It's not other brands, it is just newer cars. SPID stickers (service parts identification) can be found in all GM cars beginning in the 80s.

Mud
07-25-07, 01:11 PM
Yours should have a metal cowl tag. It is mounted on top of the firewall, drivers side. You may have to do some cleaning to see it.

carnut
07-25-07, 02:21 PM
You might get lucky by removing the rear seat lower cushion. Sometimes the factory build sheet is located within the seat springs! I've also found the sheet under the passenger seat in the springs.

Mud
07-25-07, 04:38 PM
y'know I'm gonna try that on mine. I did look under the never-used spare but found nothing. I'm willing to bet that no-one has ever monkeyed with the back seat cushions. Car is probably one of the most original that I have seen in a long time.

Wheelman322
07-25-07, 05:16 PM