: Temperature?

peatea
01-15-03, 12:00 AM
What is the normal operating temperature of a Northstar in 10 degree weather?

Another question...

If I have to add coolant to the radiator what do I put in?

I read about pellets and special coolant for these engines.

Pat

BeelzeBob
01-16-03, 12:18 AM
I don't think many of us ever experience 10 degree weather! :o hehe

peatea
01-16-03, 07:46 AM
I was serious.
In the Chicago area it gets cold.
I noticed that the readout says it was 210-220 degrees (idle).
I think that is too hot.
I have not driven it since then but I have to take a 300 mile trip Friday and I don't want to put the wrong stuff in the aluminum radiator/block.

Pat

BeelzeBob
01-16-03, 07:53 AM
Well, the Northstar IS known to run hot.. Have you had the car Winterized this year? Now may be a good time if you're going on a long trip...

peatea
01-16-03, 09:50 AM
I bought the car in Sept and had everything checked out. They added a small amount of coolant. I am fairly new to Northstar's and I want to be sure that everything is functioning properly. So far it seems good except for a small oil leak. I have put close to 10,000 miles on the car since I bought it but most of that has not been in below freezing weather. What I would like to knoe is if I must add coolant to it what should I use. Normal antifreeze such as perstone? Or something that is specialized for aluminum engines and radiators. I do not want to screw this car up.
Thanks.
Pat

Devil_concours
01-16-03, 10:07 AM
Originally posted by peatea