: U-n-a-c-c-e-p-t-a-b-l-e!

Playdrv4me
06-18-07, 11:43 AM
ooJYl-ceVd8

Disclaimer: Video is news moderated but still graphic, so beware.

Im sure you guys by now have heard about the disastrous car show incident that occured at a Cars for Kids event that occured in Tennessee this past weekend involving the death of six spectators, 3 of which were teenagers.

Well, I just watched the video on Youtube and it's got to be the stupidest, most avoidable accident Ive ever seen. There are *NO* barriers between the track and the spectators. Perhaps im a newbie to drag/funny-car racing, but NEVER have I seen a case where cars with that kind of raw power and potential for destruction are allowed to perform within FEET of spectators with NO SUCH barrier there to protect them. What a recipe for disaster.

I do not find the poor driver of the call in any way at fault in this, except that he himself should have been somewhat aware of the potential of his vehicle so close to bystanders. The organizers of the event are going to have some TOUGH questions to answer. Absolutely ridiculous... entirely avoidable tragedy.

RightTurn
06-18-07, 12:13 PM
No doubt a totally avoidable tragedy. That video is difficult to watch.

Playdrv4me
06-18-07, 12:19 PM
Sorry about that, I just put a disclaimer in there, it is a bit graphic.

pabstcadillac
06-18-07, 12:20 PM
Cars for Kids event that occured in Tennessee

This is pretty much all I needed to read to know that something could have been done to avoid an accident of this nature. :alchi:

Playdrv4me
06-18-07, 12:25 PM
I Just heard another tidbit about it on the radio (I listen to talk radio all day at work). Quoting some official.. "Its a complex situation... We've held this event for 18 years with no problems".

Well you are DAMN lucky then... I guess thats what complacency does for you. And what the HELL is complex about it?!!... you put barriers up to protect people, end of story.