: Mod My V & Newbie Questions

]<ing
06-16-07, 05:39 AM
Newbie here. Directed from LS1Tech by some of the V guys over there. Great boards - both of them.

I'm considering 2 Vs in my area:

1) Procharged, headers, corsa, Intake, Eibachs.
2) Bone stock.

In the event that I get the stock car, what are the essential mods that need to be done in order of importance? If I were to have - say, 3K to put into it right off the bat, what would YOU use that money for.

CAGS (still not sure what that is to be honest)? Wheel hop kit? Exhaust? Headers? Tune? How much should I expect to spend on each item? What would be the expected gains.

Also, is anyone aware of a reputable Tuner near Huntsville AL?

rand49er
06-16-07, 06:38 AM
If that procharged car is in good shape and the difference in cost is not that much, that might be the way to go. What differential does it have?

If you go with the stock car and put $3k into it, I'd do shifter (B&M <$200 or UUC ~$400), exhaust (Corsa is ~$1.1k), tune (StealthV $400), and headers (Kooks is <$1k; adding hi/flo cats for ~$600 would put you over).

The CAGS is computer aided gear selection and, if shifting normally, with force you from 1st to 4th gear ... VERY annoying. The tune will eliminate that at no extra cost.

That doesn't address all of your questions, but that's my $0.02.

Good luck!

]<ing
06-16-07, 08:04 AM
If that procharged car is in good shape and the difference in cost is not that much, that might be the way to go. What differential does it have?

If you go with the stock car and put $3k into it, I'd do shifter (B&M <$200 or UUC ~$400), exhaust (Corsa is ~$1.1k), tune (StealthV $400), and headers (Kooks is <$1k; adding hi/flo cats for ~$600 would put you over).

The CAGS is computer aided gear selection and, if shifting normally, with force you from 1st to 4th gear ... VERY annoying. The tune will eliminate that at no extra cost.

That doesn't address all of your questions, but that's my $0.02.

Good luck!