: I think it's the Tensioner

RazorSpikes
06-13-07, 11:07 PM
I hear a high pitched screeching sound when i start my car. It's coming from the top pulley on the right side of the engine. After I drive for about 15-20 minutes the screeching goes away but after the engine cools down the screeching sound comes back again. I'm still a newbie but the threads I've read so fars got me thinking it's the belt tensioner or the idler tensioner I need to replace.

Ranger
06-13-07, 11:23 PM
If the tensioner is frozen (rusted in place) and not providing enough tension then the belt will slip and squeal. On the other hand, it could be a bad tensioner or idler bearing. Listen with a stethoscope or length of hose, but be careful around those spinning belts. Also with the engine off, release the tension on the tensioner and spin the pulleys by hand. See if they are quiet and smooth with no slop in them.

RazorSpikes
06-13-07, 11:47 PM
If the tensioner is frozen (rusted in place) and not providing enough tension then the belt will slip and squeal. On the other hand, it could be a bad tensioner or idler bearing. Listen with a stethoscope or length of hose, but be careful around those spinning belts. Also with the engine off, release the tension on the tensioner and spin the pulleys by hand. See if they are quiet and smooth with no slop in them.

Taking into consideration that I have never done this procedure before, I do have a few questions: Can a rusted tensioner be lubricated with wd40 if it's rusted? How do I release the tension and replace the tensioner? Is the idler bearing part of the Tensioner main drive assembly?

Ranger
06-14-07, 11:26 AM