: OK...Easy Mods for the guys with basic tools

05ctsvfan
06-03-07, 06:53 PM
I have a 2004 with 11k and freakin love this car. Never had a single problem with it and everyone wants to ride in it / buy it from me. It's 100% stock and I just started thinking about mods.

I have some basic tools and would say I am a beginner but fairly mechanically inclined.

Can you all chime in on some easy mods for me to start with? My buddy who is a gear head said a CAI and buy a Tuner and do it myself. The CAI sounds easy, not sure about the tune. Again, limited tools and knowlege.

Man this car is still fun after 2 years!! I live in Atlanta if there are any clubs.

Thanks!

heavymetals
06-03-07, 07:07 PM
Cruise Reed's FAQ's and you can get some ideas.

http://www.cadillacfaq.com/

There are instructions so you can guage your ability to do yourself. :thumbsup:

05ctsvfan
06-03-07, 07:09 PM
Thanks! I will start there.

rand49er
06-03-07, 08:31 PM
Forget the CAI ... "gains" if any not worth the $.

Shifter and exhaust would be high on my list, FWIW.

Can go a lot of different directions after that.

2004ctsv
06-03-07, 08:39 PM
Shifter and exhaust would be high on my list, FWIW

If you still have CAGS - get rid of that first.

$2 if you're cheap and probably $25 if you buy pre-made wire set

Then, I agree - shifter and exhaust come next. Both are relatively easy if you have a reasonable set of sockets and wrenches. But a torque wrench (maybe $60 - $75 at Sears) will be required

heavymetals
06-03-07, 08:50 PM
Shifter, a maggie and a Stealth tune.

All you will need but not all you will want. :canttalk:

Staxxin
06-03-07, 09:26 PM
short shifter, headers, exhaust, Maggie and tune. Nothing more you can need besides some thicker rear meats.

Dennisscars
06-03-07, 11:16 PM
Speaking of basic tools this is the most important item in my tool box...

http://s7.sears.com/is/image/Sears/00944517000?rgn=0,0,2040,2040&scl=8.16&fmt=jpeg
(dang it, can't get pic to stick..)