: 1997 Cadillac STS

97CadSTS
05-13-07, 07:46 PM
Hey, guys im new to the Cadillac Forum here. I'm about to buy a 1997 Cadillac Seville Sts. The thing about the car is, that it has almost 200,000 milles, and the dealership said it may need head gaskets. I checked the car out, and it is completely mint body, interior, and runs well. I took it for a test drive, and it seemed to climb in temperature a little bit, but at idle it was fine. The car excelerated great, and shifted perfectly. Is there a chance it could be just a thermostat, and or a waterpump? I've heard Cadillacs with the Northstar have alot of problems with head gaskets, so who knows. They are asking $2000 for it, and other than possibly needing head gaskets, it seems to be a great car. My question is that, is it possible to do the head gaskets with the motor in the car, or does it have to be dropped? I've been reading the forums, and most people seem to drop the cradle. Also is it difficult to do the head gaskets?
Thanks for your help
-Chris

Ranger
05-13-07, 08:26 PM
:welcome:
It is possible that it could be a thermostat, clogged purge line, water pump belt tensioner or cap, but I would suspect they checked all that out already. Kudos to them for being honest. I have heard of 1 or 2 who have done head gaskets with the engine in the car, but they said it was very difficult and would never do it again. If you do this job, be sure to Timesert all 20 head bolt holes. I would also strongly advise that you get your hands on a FSM before starting. It will come in very handy.

97CadSTS
05-13-07, 10:35 PM