: V6; One of 3 timing chains stretched??

Michigan SRX4
04-19-07, 02:27 PM
I have owned a 2007 Cadillac SRX4 V6 for almost 6 months. I have had to bring it in for service 4 times now. The latest is for a "Powertrain Module Error". Dealer first told me the engine waas bad and would need to be replaced. Then after my slight tirade with the service manager, they tell me one of the 3 timing chains has stretched and they are waiting for parts. They have had the car for 6 going on 7 business days now not including weekends. I am an engineer who has built more than a few engines in my life. Has anyone else ever heard of this or had it happen to them? I find it hard to believe I have the only one that this has happened to. 3.6L VVT motor is available in all the sedan platforms, dealer has not ever seen this problem before. What really irkes me, is I bought this one, NEW. It has less than 6,000 miles on it. Anyone, any opinions?? I do love this vehicle, but now it feels tainted.

dkozloski
04-19-07, 03:07 PM
Drive chains don't stretch. They wear at the pins and get longer. This is easy to check by seeing how far you can flex the chain, 90deg. to the normal direction. It's inconceivable the chain could wear in 6000 miles. It sounds to me like they don't have any idea what's really wrong.

donjumpsuit
04-19-07, 04:24 PM
Good luck if your car is a lemon,
GM would rather spend 3 times as much as the car costs to fix, rather than issue you a new one, or buy it back. All the while you wait around paying for a car, you do not have the ability to use, and they don't issue rentals often.

Michigan SRX4
04-20-07, 07:49 AM