: computer question

CadillacSTS42005
03-23-07, 04:29 PM
comp question for you techy guys
on the back of my lap top is an s video jack, i have an s video in on my surround sound reciever. I have the audio working through a rca cable plugged into my lap tops head phone jack, but i cannot figure out how to have the picture displayed through the s video jack
any ideas????

nickc50310
03-23-07, 04:57 PM
there should be a button to change the monitor mode on your laptop. hold down the fn key and hit the button. it is usually one of the f keys up top with a square on it. gimme a sec and ill take a pic of a laptop with my cell and post it.

im a pc tech for the state.

nickc50310
03-23-07, 05:13 PM
here doo, on these old shitty compuke laptops i had laying around the office, it was the f4 key. this should give you an idea of what to look for.

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b230/nickc50310/lt2.jpg

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b230/nickc50310/lt1.jpg

CadillacSTS42005
03-23-07, 05:23 PM
i can display both
the tv has a picture but its like nothing but colored line kinda like if your cable is out or the cable is loose but its not

jstein12
03-23-07, 06:10 PM
i can display both
the tv has a picture but its like nothing but colored line kinda like if your cable is out or the cable is loose but its not

Graphics card(chip) can't do it. Switch to S Video output only, and lower the resolution and refresh rate to minimal. When you're done you will not be happy with the quality.

CadillacSTS42005
03-23-07, 06:17 PM
how do i do just one screen and that screen the tv screen
it wont let me set the outsourced screen as a primary
also how would i lower the resolution?

jstein12
03-23-07, 06:25 PM
how do i do just one screen and that screen the tv screen
it wont let me set the outsourced screen as a primary
also how would i lower the resolution?

As mentioned, there should be a function key on your keyboard to toggle as such. All brands differ slightly.