: Gc Guys, Spring Rates From Mark.....

vettethret
03-06-07, 02:29 PM
I've been on the phone with Mark from GC for about 30 minutes going over what I'm looking for. I was very happy with his willingness to help me figure this out. The car is going on the ground. 2.5" in front and 2.75" in the rear, this is how I've been running all my cars for 10 years in case that comes up. I will be running the DND racetech shocks which are basically the hal 12 way adjustables.

Mark gave me a suggestion of running 8" springs instead of the normal 10" since I'm going down so far. I cant have the wheels jamming up in the wells so he suggested 850lb fronts and 800lb rears. I have a Viper thats dumped on Motons so I'm use to a hard ride. My biggest concern is not bottoming on the wheels wells. The guys running the more aggressive set ups, what do you think of these rates? By going to an 8" spring in front, will it be enough to keep the front of the car up? Mark actually suggested I post up and get some advice from the guys that have gone this route.

Thanks in advance:thumbsup:

rand49er
03-06-07, 03:49 PM
If you're goin' that low, better go a million in front and a million fifty in back. :eek:

vettethret
03-06-07, 06:39 PM
Anyone?

05CTS
03-06-07, 09:05 PM
By lowering your car that low your are limiting your on springs and spring rates. If you go to soft, your coils will bottom out on one another causing coil bind and will also cause your wheel to bottom out as well in the fender. If you go to 800 lbs springs your ride is going to extremely stiff for street use but it's probably your only option going that low. Why don't you go to less of a drop and gain better ride quality. We use a minimum of 800 lb springs on our older vette road cars. We start out beginners on 600# springs and gradually move them up to 1000# springs.

vettethret
03-06-07, 09:18 PM