: Care of Black V's

stkshkr
02-28-07, 12:10 AM
I've had black cars for years and have tried almost every polish and wax sold. I've been using Zaino for several years and have been very happy with the results. I thought about buying a Porter Cable Random Orbital Buffer and a friend told me about this place that had the PC, buffing pads and a sampler of thier products, and that the GTO forum guy's were very happy with the polish and accessories they sold.
I ordered the kit and started with my old Zaino swirl remover. Using bright work lights I didn't realize how many tiny scratches I had. Went to work on it buffing the swirl remover in until it dissappeared, had to do some areas several times but all scratches are gone and the finish is perfect. Tried thier sealant/polish and WOW, even my wife commented on it (and she never really compliments it, as she says it always looks good). Guys at work were also impressed. Maybe it's the PC but I don't think it's that alone.
Anyway if you're interested, here ya go.
http://www.tropi-care.com/

folex187
02-28-07, 02:03 AM
My PC is my best friend when it comes to caring for paint. You can really do a lot without the risk of damaging your paint. Also cuts down on the time it takes to wax. I couldn't imagine detailing any car without one.

V-Max
02-28-07, 07:12 AM
If your washing properly you should not have swirls. I've owned 4 black cars and other dark ones. Zaino has some really great tips on maintenance and application. The vertical application of their products and the hand washing in the same fashion are the key.

Better yet don't touch black cars at all. I hand wash maybe three times a year in Ohio on my daily drivers. Touchless or laser car washes are the best. Not much of a fan of natural waxes as the synthetic are just as good. Remember also that the more time or coats you apply the better it will look. If your only applying 1-3 coats of a product that is about all you'll receive in appearance.

Norm

thebigjimsho