Loud popping sound
Cadillac

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds / (Old System)

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
Cadillac Escalade, EXT and ESV Forum - 1999 - 2006 Discussion, Loud popping sound in Cadillac Escalade Forums; I have a relatively new 2003 Escalade. I am really a BMW driver, with a 745i and a 330 cic. ...
    oinick is offline Cadillac Owners Member

Question Loud popping sound

I have a relatively new 2003 Escalade. I am really a BMW driver, with a 745i and a 330 cic. I traded my X5 in on the Escalade because I got a great deal and mostly because I was so tired of not being able to haul much in the X5.

Anyway, aside from quality control issues mostly related to loose trim pieces on the exterior, I have been troubled by a really loud popping noise coming from under the car, especially when parked with the engine off but also when sitting in traffic at stoplights with the engine running. The dealer says this is normal, just catalytic converter noise as it cools off. He says it will get better as the car gets more broken in (only 3300 miles on it now).

This noise is not BMW-like and I am troubled by it. I am really interested in converting back to American made autos what with the economy and the damn Germans and their lack of cooperation in the Iraq thing. But I want to know if most people think Cadillac quality is up to snuff. I can easily see myself getting an XLR as a trade for the 330 cic, and in the future trading the Escalade for an XLS. But quality is a huge issue.

Any ideas about the popping? Normal or no? Have you been happy with Caddy quality?

2. Remove Advertisements
    CadillacForums.com
    Advertisements

Katshot is offline Cadillac Owners Master