engine 4.5 or 4.9 help 1990
Cadillac

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds / (Old System)

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
Cadillac DeVille 1985 to 2005 including:
1985-1992 Fleetwood, 1993 Sixty Special, All FWD Forum Discussion, engine 4.5 or 4.9 help 1990 in Past Cadillac Vehicle Discussion; Hey Guys I am a newbie so please correct me or direct me if I am in wrong section. I ...
    LuvTap is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): none

engine 4.5 or 4.9 help 1990

Hey Guys I am a newbie so please correct me or direct me if I am in wrong section. I have a question I am trying to help my brother-in-law with his 1990 cadilac deville his 4.5 engine is blown and he found a 4.9 engine (not sure of the year) at a very resonable price. My questions is could the 4.9 be used in the 1990 model to replace the 4.5 engine or are there too many complications,like motor mounts, electronics, inigtion etc. I am sure somone probably answered this years ago but I dont know where to look for the answer. Thanks in advance.

2. Remove Advertisements
    CadillacForums.com
    Advertisements

jayoldschool is offline GM RWD V8 addict
    Automobile(s): 81 FWB D'Elegance coupe

Re: engine 4.5 or 4.9 help 1990

Welcome! His car is FWD, so I'll move this over to the correct section for you.

MoistCabbage is offline Cadillac Owners 10000+ Posts
    Automobile(s): Crimson 2001 Seville STS, 1990 Seville (RIP)
    It's possible, but yes, other things would have to be changed as well. Unless you want to take the opportunity to upgrade, I'd just look for a 4.5. They're plentiful and cheap.

drewsdeville is offline Cadillac Owners Master
    Automobile(s): 2011 Crown Vic LX