Cadillac Owners Forum banner

2000 Deville stud kit install (my experience and advice)

3K views 10 replies 7 participants last post by  sbergerson 
#1 ·
Hello Everybody My names chris i posted not to long ago about repairing my cadillac deville headgasket I am new to the fourm and enjoy
being a part of the cadillac fourms I told everybody before that i was gonna post pictures and a write up on my expierence. I would also like
to thank tim at carrol custom cadillac he helped me through the questions that i had was very helpful and has engineered a amazing stud kit
and couldent have done it without him Thanks tim!!!

ok so everybody knows i bought a 2000 cadillac deville vin y 4.6 northstar the person i purchased it from told me that it was overheating and
had high mileage but was cosmetically perfect and had a brand new remanned trans from gm which ive been a mechanic for 10 years and in my expierence
the trans in these cars were trouble but once rebuilt with the upgrade parts they last forever of course with regular maintence anyways my wife really liked the car and I love a challenge and i knew that this car wasnt gonna be easy to be fixed but i was convinced that it was a perfect car and its the most comfortable car i ever been in and i wanted it. his original price was $1600 but i got him down to $1200 with a little pep talk keep in mind that this car has
233,000 miles but is very clean and rides like a brand new car and has no rust it also had brand new radatior,thermostat,heater core,water pump and new hoses aside from the new trans so i drove the car 200 miles back home it only got hot once and that was half way so we let it cool and got it home
the next morning i did a full diagnostic on it which led me right to a head gasket so then i started researching i knew from expierence that time serts was not