HELP! erratic idle
Cadillac

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds / (Old System)

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
Cadillac DeVille 1985 to 2005 including:
1985-1992 Fleetwood, 1993 Sixty Special, All FWD Forum Discussion, HELP! erratic idle in Past Cadillac Vehicle Discussion; Hi guys, I am a bit new to the Cadillac world so please bare with me. I have a 2001 ...
    63chevy is offline Cadillac Owners Member

HELP! erratic idle

Hi guys,
    I am a bit new to the Cadillac world so please bare with me. I have a 2001 DeVille with a very erratic idle which is only getting worse with every attempt to fix the problem:

The car runs erratic throughout the RPM range with idle speed being significantly worse.
    codes:
    O2 sensor
    cam position sensor
    torque converter
    TCC (transmission control computer) stuck off
    missfire bank 1

In addition a loud hum and, in my opinion, an excessive amount of heat are coming from the right rear of the trunk (?thinking fuel pump?); also the micro relays under the rear seat are excessively hot.

Probably unrelated, the car has suddenly begun to pull to the right with a noticeable vibration from the right front wheel.

I have replaced the cam position sensor and the fuel filter.

My thoughts are that having replaced the cam sensor with no positive effect the erratic idle is caused by a fuel issue, thus replacement of the cheapest component- fuel filter. Now it seems to run worse. With the cost of a fuel pump about $300 I'm looking for help before my wallet dies. Thanks for any input guys.

2. Remove Advertisements
    CadillacForums.com
    Advertisements

Ranger is offline Cadillac Owners Member