Cadillac Owners Forum banner

Car Cleaning/Detailing Thread

19K views 59 replies 30 participants last post by  Submariner409 
#1 ·
So I figured I would start a thread regarding washing and maintaining our vehicles.

I am no pro with the products I used but I do spend 3-4 hours a week cleaning inside and out.

I used Meguiar's ultimate wash and wax. Apparently it has some wax in it and it definitely seems to sud more and shine more than some of my old turtle wax car champoos. Seems a bit expensive though. Anyone have any recommendations or suggestions?

G
#2 · (Edited)
I have been using a lot of the Adams Polishes car care products, Their car wash shampoo, Car wash pad for the upper half of the car, Detail spray & Great white microfiber drying towel that can be used to accelerate drying the car is a life saver for me with the hard water here even though I am using a 3 stage filter system
"2 autogeek filters and a Mr clean gun with filter" for washing my ATS.

I use a separate microfiber sponge for the lower half of the car and wheels since those are the parts of the car that tend to get the dirtiest.
A 3rd sponge just for the exhaust tips to.
Double bucket washing method.

MetroVac Blaster Sidekick Dryer to blow most of the water off the car prior to applying the Detail spray and hand drying with the Adams Polishes great white microfiber.

303 Aerospace protectant on all leather, vinyl & plastic.

Seltzer Water for any minor interior stains.
Woolite dark extra care for the GM ebony, charcoal colored carpets and floor mats.

Napa Glass cleaner on windows.
Staples screen cleaner for auto dimming mirrors and CUE.

The GM red & gold stain removers with the stain application chart, GM Vinyl, leather, plastic cleaner are all really good if and when you can find them
Same with the GM Odor Eliminator that is hvac system safe.

My b.f. does the waxing with 3M synthetic wax.

I have the Adams Polishes Butter Wax but it hasnt been nice enough to try it yet