AC Delco Battery replacement
Cadillac

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds / (Old System)

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Cadillac CTS First Generation Forum - 2003 - 2007 Discussion, AC Delco Battery replacement in Cadillac CTS Coupe, Sport Sedan and Sport Wagon Forums; Hello to all. I'm a newbie who just bought a 2006 Cadillac CTS - 2.8 L. The existing AC Delco ...
    Enthralled is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): NONE

AC Delco Battery replacement

Hello to all. I'm a newbie who just bought a 2006 Cadillac CTS - 2.8 L.

The existing AC Delco battery is 4 years old and with winter just around the corner here in frigid Manitoba, I would like to buy a non-Delco replacement battery because I just don't like paying a GM dealership $250.

The problems: The existing Delco battery has a battery blanket with the top cover tied down to its front side with a velcro strip. The location of the battery is at the top left corner just under the hood. The battery has its two terminals on the front of the battery facing me and not at the top like most car batteries. I'm not sure if I bought a non-Delco battery if the:

(1) existing cable connectors to the terminals are long enough for a top connection rather than a side connection, and

(2) top terminals of the brand new battery might touch the underside of the metal hood thus 'shorting' the battery.

Can anyone here see any dangers in what I am proposing to do?

Thank you.

2. Remove Advertisements
    CadillacForums.com
    Advertisements

txbest1980 is offline Cadillac Owners Master
    Automobile(s): 2003 CTS "Ebony Maria" 2005 Cadillac STS "Grace"

Re: AC Delco Battery replacement