Cadillac
 

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Regular to Bose

  1. #1
    Vesicant's Avatar
    Vesicant is offline Cadillac Owners Connoisseur
    Automobile(s): None :(
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    2,703

    Question Regular to Bose

    Ok being the nut that I am, ive been searching eBay™ for a Bose headunit for the 2000 catera; I found a few at reasonable prices BUT because my car came equiped with a non-bose unit, will it work still? Or do I have to do some custom wiring for it to work with my current setup. Im not sure if the plugs are the same either - hence the custom wiring i would have to do.

    Lucy youve got some 'splaning to do!!


  2. Remove Advertisements
    CadillacForums.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Bucks County, Pa
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,805

    Re: Regular to Bose

    Quote Originally Posted by JefferyG
    Ok being the nut that I am, ive been searching eBay™ for a Bose headunit for the 2000 catera; I found a few at reasonable prices BUT because my car came equiped with a non-bose unit, will it work still? Or do I have to do some custom wiring for it to work with my current setup. Im not sure if the plugs are the same either - hence the custom wiring i would have to do.

    Lucy youve got some 'splaning to do!!
    Why wouldn't you just go with aftermarket stereo and save the agrivation

  4. #3
    Vesicant's Avatar
    Vesicant is offline Cadillac Owners Connoisseur
    Automobile(s): None :(
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    2,703

    Re: Regular to Bose

    I dont mind rewiring it, but would the unit itself work? Would it work with the plug thats in there? If not, say so please!

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Bucks County, Pa
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,805

    Re: Regular to Bose

    Quote Originally Posted by JefferyG
    I dont mind rewiring it, but would the unit itself work? Would it work with the plug thats in there? If not, say so please!
    Well,
    I don't know if it would connect right b/c there is more to the bose system than meets the eye, they have amps for the speakers and that is extra wiring and adaptors that you need to hook up. I don't think that it would work b/c there is extra things on it.

  6. #5
    Vesicant's Avatar
    Vesicant is offline Cadillac Owners Connoisseur
    Automobile(s): None :(
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    2,703

    Re: Regular to Bose

    I had a 1995 Cadillac DeVille Concours that i borrowed when i moved here for a temp. car, the stock radio burnt out and i had Circut City put in a new headunit, but the problem was they had to make it work with a seperate amp/radio controller in the upper lip of the trunk... took forever but they did it. Now being that its a cadillac and even the base cadillacs are known for good sounding stereos, im thinking it wouldnt be that tooo terribly different. The bose equipped Catera's only have the special headunit and speakers from what i can tell. Any ideas?

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    6

    Re: Regular to Bose

    Hey guy, dont try it! I wasted countless hours and a hella lot of money attempting the same--and it wont work. I hate being the barrier of the bad, but here's the why you cant.
    1st-the base system is ac delco system that has the radio/stereo unit controlling the sound input controls ie bass, treble.
    the bose system has amp and equ in the trunk mounted above the deck that controlls these sounds imput and other information for the sound system.
    2nd the wiring and the speakers and the amp/sub are all specified bose in the hardware and if you dont have matching compnents, it ain't going to do shit.
    3rd if you try to put bose in the base enviroment-you'll have to replace it all and I do mean ALL. speakers, wires, amps, fuses, everythings got to be bose or you'll just have static. and if somebody has attempted this and succeeded, please educate me cause I've got no problem with eating my words if I'm infact mistake.
    4th anti theft coding in the systems are different and one requires more than that stupid override code to get stereo working. take the battery cables off for about 1hr and you'll bypass that bs all together.



    QUOTE=JefferyG]Ok being the nut that I am, ive been searching eBay™ for a Bose headunit for the 2000 catera; I found a few at reasonable prices BUT because my car came equiped with a non-bose unit, will it work still? Or do I have to do some custom wiring for it to work with my current setup. Im not sure if the plugs are the same either - hence the custom wiring i would have to do.

    Lucy youve got some 'splaning to do!![/QUOTE]


Bookmarks

Cadillac Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Read about Lincoln | Buick | Kia Forte Forum