2000 catera charging system issues
Cadillac

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds / (Old System)

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
Cadillac Catera and Cimarron Forum Discussion, 2000 catera charging system issues in Past Cadillac Vehicle Discussion; Hello all, this is my first time on the board as a member, I have gotten a lot of useful ...
    roadsidesaint is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): 2000 catera

2000 catera charging system issues

Hello all, this is my first time on the board as a member, I have gotten a lot of useful information in the past and I'm hoping maybe someone can point me in the right direction on a new issue I'm having.

I recently bought a 2000 catera. For the first 2 days the car ran perfectly. However, after those 2 days it has been nothing but issues. there is a valve cover gasket leak which i am going to fix this afternoon, that allowed the 2,4,6 spark plug tubes to fill with oil. the boots were ripped on the coil, so i am also replacing that, and the plugs.

but the real issues is the charging system...

after turning the car off or letting it sit for a few minutes, or even WHILE DRIVING, the battery light comes on, most the dash lights come on, and the car while loose its charge completely, leaving it dead and me stranded. If i just touch jumper cables to it, it starts right back up, and dies all over again.