1997 Catera - Need suggestions on where to start
Cadillac

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds / (Old System)

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
Cadillac Catera and Cimarron Forum Discussion, 1997 Catera - Need suggestions on where to start in Past Cadillac Vehicle Discussion; I am a college student and only have this car and an opportunity to use it, if I can get ...
    rpettit is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): Catera

Question 1997 Catera - Need suggestions on where to start

I am a college student and only have this car and an opportunity to use it, if I can get it fixed. Sorry if this is long and perhaps redundant, but I have searched the forums for answers, trying to do this on my own. At this point I need help, and I hope someone can point me in the right direction.

I have a 1997 Catera and have some issues with it and need some reference points on where to start.

1. I have noticed that there is a lot of info out there on 1998's and newer. Are any of these threads going to be compatible reference material for a 1997? How about the Opel, would I look at the same year or a different year? What model?

2. My dash gauges are all over the place and the odo does not work. Code is P0501, assuming from what I have read, VSS needs replaced. simple enough, but what about the others? Seems the rpm works, but get heat light, oil light coming on, but does not seem to be a problem mechanically while driving. Any suggestions?

Some other codes I get are p0411, p0171, p0174 and pending p0134 -02B151 no activity. I have looked these up, but am not sure where to start fixing or replacing things.