please clear this up if you can
Cadillac

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds / (Old System)

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
Cadillac Catera and Cimarron Forum Discussion, please clear this up if you can in Past Cadillac Vehicle Discussion; i have been reading on here, for a few weeks , but finally signed up tonight, first off my name ...
    Jamies97Cat is offline Cadillac Owners Member
    Automobile(s): Cadillac Catera

please clear this up if you can

i have been reading on here, for a few weeks , but finally signed up tonight, first off my name is jamie, and i'm a noob! also a noob to cadillac. for the last 9 years i have been a lincoln mark VIII guy but i could not pass up this 97 catera i just bought. the car has 76k on it, 1 owner car and i knew when i bought it that the coolant tank was full of milky sludge. the car runs mint and the actual oil looks perfect, so i'm leaning away from head gaskets. i have read here that the engine oil cooler/heat exchanger is the culprit most of the time. today i pulled all the hoses off and took out the fan and radiator and started flushing water through all the holes trying to get as much sludge out as i can for now. i just want to make sure that i am heading in the right direction. from what i have read i need to remove the intake plenum and unbolt the plate that covers the cooler to get the cooler out. if the cooler is in fact bad will it be obvious once i remove the plate in the valley on top of the block. will the coolant also be milky inside this hole where the cooler is? before i go ordering any parts i just want input to this dilema before i waste time and money finding out it might be something more involved or very expensive. i like the car and