'99 STS UX9 Bose to Denso Nav conversion
Cadillac

Cadillac Forums | Help Us Help You | Advertise | Cadillac Parts | Cadillac News | Cadillac Classifieds / (Old System)

Cadillac Technical Archive | Cadillac Dealers | Cadillac Reviews | Cadillac Dealer Reviews | Cadillac Vendors

CadillacForums.com is the premier Cadillac Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
+ Reply to Thread
Cadillac Audio, Video and Security Systems Discussion, '99 STS UX9 Bose to Denso Nav conversion in Item Specific Cadillac Discussion; Okay, I'd like to tackle this project this winter, and I've heard it's possible. I am an audio/video installer by ...
    brougham96 is offline Cadillac Owners Fanatic
    Automobile(s): 1973 Sedan deVille, 2004 White Diamond deVille DHS

Question '99 STS UX9 Bose to Denso Nav conversion

Okay, I'd like to tackle this project this winter, and I've heard it's possible.

I am an audio/video installer by trade, although mostly in television production-type enviroments. So I'm pretty comfortable with a soldering iron, multimeter, etc..

A couple questions regarding this:
    -Is it true the Nav unit will work with the currently installed RIM? If that's the case, I would assume there is no compromise in the sound quality of the Bose system.
    -Any issue with steering wheel controls? I know the '99 has a different control layout than the newer steering wheels, not sure if they are the same buttons. I guess I'm not sure if they run to the HU or the RIM.
    -I've heard somewhere that later models of the NAV unit are locked down a bit more as far as playing DVDs while driving (with unlock code).. Is there a year range I should try to find?
    -Just curious: Does the DVD player do 5.1 surround? I know the car has the physical speaker layout to make it happen, but not sure if the RIM could do it.

and probably most importantly: